A Gift and A Plan- Part 1

My best friend turned 50 this past month. We don’t usually buy each other gifts, but with the same big birthday coming up for me, we’ve been talking about the ways we might celebrate this year. We will go see the new Outsiders musical on Broadway based on the novel we both read in high school shortly after we met. We will enjoy our annual dinner out on the Cape this summer. We used to say we would buy an expensive bag when we reached this milestone, but both of us have changed our opinions on that. I sent a silly gift to her house on her actual birthday. Still, I had been trying to think of some small token and celebration of her birthday and our friendship. 

For as long as I can remember I have assembled photo albums. This started in second grade when I had my roll of film developed at the local camera store and on pick up day, the technician handed me my envelope full of photos and complimented my photography skills. I am sure he was being kind, but I took it seriously, and went home to fill a small 3 x 5 album with all these photos of the animals at the Bronx Zoo. This love of creating albums continued into high school. I would pick up my photos at Walgreens, sift and sort through them, lay them out, some vertical and some horizontal, on the self adhesive pages, and surround them with words or sayings I cut from magazines. Once my arrangement was to my liking, I would return the clear film back over the page, and it was ready for viewing. My methods became more sophisticated when I began scrapbooking every Saturday night with my sister in law at the local community center. Here I would create books by using tools to round the edges of my photos and decorating pages with premade borders and colorful objects. Currently, I make these photo books online where I organize my digital photos and journal about them. 

I browsed through my phone,  Shutterfly, and many of those old photobooks to find photos of Kristen and me. The thought, the picture search, and the hobby of crafting books all came together in a photobook gift- 50 pictures to celebrate her 50th birthday. Although I had collected many more photos, I narrowed it down to a variety of fifty covering an assortment of memories- gatherings at friend’s houses, walkathons from school, proms, graduation, weddings, vacations together. I ordered them chronologically as best I could and arranged them on the pages.

The book arrived, and I wrapped it and got it ready to go to the post office when I had a thought. Today we were driving our middle daughter back to Boston from her spring break. Kristen lives just outside the city. “Will we have time to drop it off to her house?” I asked Al as we were headed out. He rarely says no, and said, “Sure.” I knew our kids wouldn’t complain about the stop as they like visiting the Mathews Family. I opted not to tell Kristen as I didn’t want her to change plans for the day. We’d take our chances if they were home or not.

To be continued, so that I have a slice idea for tomorrow!

8 thoughts on “A Gift and A Plan- Part 1

  1. I love that you’ve been doing this since the second grade. What a gift to be able to enjoy your view of the world back then! My best friend is also the one who always pushes us to take more photos while we’re together, and I must admit sometimes I just want to enjoy the moment and not pose next to another building, but then she shows us all these memories she’s captured for us, and I am incredibly grateful to her.
    I’ll definitely come back for part 2.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a beautiful gift, and I love that you delivered it to her house (I’m looking forward to part 2. Was she home? How did she react?). I didn’t know you were a scrapbooker! I spent years creating those scrapbooks – cutting pictures into shapes, adding backgrounds and stickers and writing. I haven’t done it for years, but I LOVE looking back over these creations.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is so cool, so thoughtful! The back story to who you are, a photo girl, a scrap booker, a memory keeper is such a great set up to Kristen’s surprise gift! Your friendship is the best gift and the photobook is proof that the friendship has stood the test of time! Looking forward to part 2 (I love a two for one idea, especially in March!)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is a great gift, since it will last and be returned to (not returned). I’m not a scrapbooker, but I do make a Shutterfly yearbook for my family every year. It takes some time, but I feel like I’m keeping moments from drifting off into forgottenville. I also think it’s funny (eeried) how when I got to the bottom of your post there was an ad for Shutterfly. New meaning to “followers” of your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thanks for the memory walk as you prepare your surprise. I also used to love picking up developed pictures and organizing them! Can’t wait to hear more about this thoughtful way to celebrate your friend.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started