Jacob’s Pickles

Al had been talking about a new restaurant that opened not far from us called Jacob’s Pickles, best known as a place to visit in New York City. He had sent me the menu, pointed out the billboard, and made suggestions to go. When it came time for our school’s Ice Skating Party on a Friday night, I thought this might be a good opportunity to try it. We would be closer, and Nolan had to work that night. I made a reservation online and told Al of the plan. “You can come to the ice skating party for a bit, and then we can go to Jacob’s Pickles.”

I told one of my daughters we were going. “Jacob’s Pickles?” she questioned, “You don’t even like pickles.” “I know,” I responded, “I am sure that’s not all they serve.” She laughed adding, “Yes, but they must be known for pickles for it to be in the name of the restaurant.” 

I have never loved pickles. They only make it in the shopping cart if Al is with me. I remember peeling them off my McDonald’s burger growing up. If I am alone at a deli, I’ll say no pickle please. If I’m with someone at a deli, I’ll give the pickle away.

Our table for two was comfortable and not crowded by another table which I always appreciate. The lights were dim, the staff was bustling, and energy filled the air. There was a mix of families, couples, and groups of friends, some looked to be celebrating special occasions.

It was a menu full of southern comfort classics, mac and cheese, biscuits, chicken and waffles, and meatloaf. I settled on the shrimp and grits and Al the buffalo chicken mac and cheese, and what would a trip to Jacob’s Pickles be without ordering the pickles! A pickle sampler of hot sour cukes, candy cukes, big dill kosher cukes, and sweet and spicy carrots came in a fun display of mason jars. I stared at the assortment with curiosity, watching Al dive in and give his opinion on each variety. In that moment, I felt I couldn’t leave without at least saying I tried one. Maybe it would change my opinion? I chose the candy cuke, quite crunchy and sweet, tasting like it had a candy coating on the outside. It was an interesting mix of sweet and sour. I stuck to my one, while Al enjoyed almost the rest of the sampler, leaving a few to take home to Nolan. We topped it all off with a skillet chocolate chip cookie with vanilla ice cream because you don’t go to a restaurant like this and not try it all.

It was an interesting mix of foods and fun. I stick by my opinion of pickles though. They certainly don’t tickle my taste buds.

5 thoughts on “Jacob’s Pickles

  1. You had me at shrimp and grits! Your description and details really bring the restaurant experience to life. My daughter-in-law would love this place. She loves everything pickles!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started