Magical March Madness

It’s March, and in my house, that means March Madness takes center stage and our lives are transformed for the duration of the month. The television blares with the sound of game commentary, filling the family room and seeping into the kitchen and living room. My phone constantly vibrates and vibrates and vibrates with texts from the kids and Al revolving around basketball conversations. Chores are rearranged to accommodate game times, either pushed earlier or later. Meals are often in front of the television. The brackets, along with a highlighter, frequently sit on the counter, getting updated in real-time as the tournament progresses.

Despite having the least knowledge of the teams and possible outcomes, I often find myself faring well in our friendly family competition, almost clinching first place last year. However, this time around, I find myself in the middle of the standings.  With two more weeks to go, I remain hopeful that my team picking strategies are top notch. 

UCONN is a hopeful pick because I live there and have always rooted for them. Illinois is another contender as I frequently travel there. North Carolina stands a chance because of my fondness for Raleigh/Durham. I once visited Arizona for spring break, so they’re on my list. Duke’s beautiful campus might push them far. Gonzaga just has a winning feeling to its name. And the list could go on, but I’m sure you’re catching on. There’s a science to picking the winning teams.

As the tournament continues and the excitement builds, I eagerly anticipate each game, hoping my intuitive picks will pay off. Whether I win or lose, March Madness brings our family together in a spirited competition like no other. After all, in the world of March Madness, anything can happen, and that’s what makes it truly magical.

10 thoughts on “Magical March Madness

  1. I think you and I would have similar picking styles! Adi has a new found love for bball and asks arnauld all the time if there is a game on. They have a bracket together. I love this for them and for your family too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Let’s go UCONN!!! I grew up in CT and haven’t lived there since high school, but during March I always cheer for them the loudest- it’s CT’s pride and joy! I love how you describe your science of choosing teams- so relatable! Enjoy the season and I love you share how special it is for your family- more important than routines and chores!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This is a real bummer for the rest of us because our odds to win have drastically shrunk by her changing up her tactics and picking the favorites. She used to pick based on team colors or a flip of a coin.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes, to the Madness and UConn is on my list, but so is Iowa for WBB. We had 3 conference champs in Iowa in the dance last year. State loyalty. Some conference loyalty. And then some choices, just because! I’ve watched but not filled out a bracket for the men.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started