Weekend Coffee Share

(This post is inspired by Tammy Evans Writer.)

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that a parent made me cry the other day. It doesn’t happen often. I deal with difficult parents all the time, but I felt like this one was attacking me personally, and based on her words, she doesn’t know me at all. I know I should let it go, but I keep thinking of what I should have said to her. I’m going with my “in two weeks I’ll forget about it” mentality. I can also remind myself that I deal with wonderful parents all the time, too!

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I saw Scotty McCreery Friday night. I used to be a big American Idol fan in its early days. I vividly remember watching the final episodes of Season 2 while in the hospital after my daughter Calyn’s birth. Scotty was the season 10 winner, so I watched for a while. I loved that he sang and told his story during the show.

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you that I just finished having my girls home for the past two weeks. Unfortunately they had different spring breaks, but in the middle, we had a two day overlap with both of them. It was nice to have the five of us together even if for a short time. We woke up at 4:00 this morning to drive Calyn to LaGuardia. It gets a bit easier, but it’s still hard to say goodbye, especially because she will not come home for Easter, and we will not be with her to celebrate her 21st birthday.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that an amazing colleague and friend just told me she is leaving our school to do consulting work next year. Although I am so happy for her, it’s a big loss for us/me. Our staff really feels like family, so I am sad when people leave.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I have a busy week ahead. I’m involved in too many district projects in addition to many events coming up at my own school, not to mention the writing challenge I am doing this month.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you that it was great to catch up with you, but now I better go catch up on my own life and maybe I should get another coffee to go.

9 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share

  1. If we were having coffee, I’d tell you to get yourself to that two weeks out point sooner. And I’d tell you how amazing you are that you’re a principal who values literacy enough to write every day for a month. If we were having coffee, I hope we’d leave saying let’s do this again soon, and then do it.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I always love Tammy’s coffee share, and I’m glad you tried this structure. I think it worked really well. I’m sorry for all of the hard stuff and happy for the celebrations. Life is rough and beautiful at the same time. (I was sipping my own first cup of coffee while reading this, so it really was like we were having coffee together.)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for sharing. I agree with the advice you give me from time to time. “In two weeks some of these things won’t matter!”Let’s plan to have a cup of coffee at some point this week. We may need it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Love this structure! That parent has no idea how fantastic you are! Stick with that in two week mentality and, yes, remember all the great ones who appreciate you day in and day out! If we were having coffee, I’d listen and relate to every detail! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great morsels over coffee. Difficult parents can take so much joy out of life, but yes, there are many more good parents who appreciate you. Thank you for the reminder to actually try the structures others use, especially when stuck with writer’s block.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started