Commuting Conversations

With a commute to and from work, I have found ways over the years to pass the time. Although it is not unusual for me to have an audiobook playing, I find myself using the time to catch up with family and friends more often. I’ll call my mom or my Aunt Peggy. I’ll catch up with my friend, Kristen. I’ll check in on Nolan.

Maura is in her freshman year and was calling me during the day not realizing that I don’t have a college schedule, and I can’t always talk at 1:00 in the afternoon. I encouraged her to call me on my drive home from work. My daughter Calyn knows to do this. Having Life360 as a family, she will often see that I am driving home and give me a call. One afternoon I was talking to Calyn when I saw Maura’s face and name flash on the infotainment system. I asked Calyn to hold on and pressed hold and accept. “Hi Maura,” I said. I noticed the screen now said swap or merge. Hmmm…I chose to merge.

“Hello,” I said.

“Hello?” Calyn said.

“What is going on?” Maura said.

“It’s Total phone,” I said. “Total Phone?” they questioned. “Yes,” I laughed, “I used to do this with my friends all the time.” (I have a quick flashback to my 13th birthday in the late eighties when I awoke to my mom sitting on the side of the bed holding a ringing blue Conair touch tone phone as close to me as the cord could reach and telling me I had my own phone number with Total Phone. Best gift ever, even if it wasn’t the latest transparent model!)

And so it has gone- chatting with my girls on my way home. They still laugh each time they realize they are both on the phone, and we’ve even merged Al in when he calls, too. It’s Totally awesome!

8 thoughts on “Commuting Conversations

  1. Drive time is the best time for those family conversations. It’s usually when I call my aunt, who is retired and doesn’t get out much. She loves to talk, and I do too, but when I’m driving I find I can devote all my attention to the conversation without starting a load of laundry, folding another, unloading the dishwasher, and starting dinner. It’s more enjoyable, these commuting conversations.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like that last line! I never had the total phone experience, but I feel like I’m experiencing what will very likely be a similarly obscure communication experience right now. My family purchased Portals from Facebook. My sister, my mom and my family each have one. We use it to talk to my mom. Since it has a big screen, she can see our faces better, and that significantly improves her “hearing.” It’s a dinosaur, though, which Facebook (Meta) has discontinued, so I’m guessing it’s already a thing of the past (if it was ever a thing) culturally speaking. A trivia question or a “Who remembers?” that very few people will get.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I enjoy reading about your moments with your grown-up daughters so very much! I also use my ride to and from work to catch up with people. My friend Trillian, who lives in Boston, is my morning commute call, and my mom is sometimes the one I make in the afternoon. When I call them tomorrow, I’ll think of you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started