Traveling Croatia

I have been going to the gym for as long as I can remember. I’ve never been a workout class kind of person. I like to exercise on my own time, do my own thing. Last March, I stopped this daily ritual and began working out at home. Purchasing a treadmill certainly helped. I use the treadmill each day while listening to my Spotify playlist. This month, I decided to give the free yearly subscription to iFit a try. I’ve heard my friends talk enthusiastically about the virtual workouts offered from their exercise machines. I considered which one I might try, narrowing down my selection through the features. This helped, and I settled on an Adriatic Sea Interval Series with Kelsey Sheahan.

My skepticism didn’t last long. I was hooked from the start. For the past week, I’ve been exercising and traveling my way through Croatia. I’ve run up the Marjan Hill, across the white sandy beaches, through various historic towns, and along the picturesque blue ocean. I’ve visited and taken mental pictures of the Historic Saint Peter’s Church, the waterfalls of the Plitvice Lakes, and Diocletian’s Palace. Kelsey (we are on a first name basis now) has been not only my cheerleader, but my tour guide. She motivates me to keep going telling me about the prize (some kind of amazing site) we will reach at the end of the run. I find myself smiling at the tourists we pass, trying to peek in the shops that line the roadsides, and maneuvering my body to fit through the narrow paths we move through. I may never physically travel to Croatia, but I feel like I am there each morning and I’m getting more fit as I explore the beauty.

9 thoughts on “Traveling Croatia

  1. I’m so intrigued. We purchased a treadmill toward the early part of the pandemic as well. I have no regrets, but iFit sounds like it might take it up a notch. When I clicked your link I didn’t expect to find this, but I’m so glad I did. What other places have you visited? I’m headed to check out iFit.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I, too, am on my treadmill throughout the winter and during inclement weather (my husband always jokes that it has to be precisely 68 degrees and dry for me to be outside for any length of time!). I am fascinated by this app! Thank you for your Slice!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Really interesting! We purchased a treadmill at the beginning of the pandemic. I confess that it is much more interesting to walk outside. I think I am going to explore iFit and see if it’s for me. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I clicked on your link because I was wondering about the circumstances of someone traveling in Croatia at this moment in time. I had to smile as I realized that I had to shift my understanding of your piece. What a fun twist! I love your descriptions of what you’re “seeing” on your morning runs. That last paragraph makes me feel like I’m getting a glimpse of your “trip”.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started